Heisman Trophy 2020: Florida QB Kyle Trask becomes fifth Gators player to be named a finalist

By Adam Silverstein
December 24, 2020
Heisman Trophy 2020: Florida QB Kyle Trask becomes fifth Gators player to be named a finalist

Image Credit: GatorsFB / Twitter

The Heisman Trust announced Thursday night that Florida Gators redshirt senior quarterback Kyle Trask is one of four finalists for the 2020 Heisman Trophy. Trask joins Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith and QB Mac Jones along with Clemson QB Trevor Lawrence as a finalist or the most coveted award in college football.

Though Trask was the Heisman favorite for most of the season, he saw his candidacy fall of over Florida’s final three games. His three-turnover first half against LSU in the final week of the regular season resulted in the most precipitous drop for the Gators’ signal caller.

Trask is the fifth Florida player to be a Heisman finalist, following Steve Spurrier (1966), Danny Wuerffel (1995-96), Rex Grossman (2001) and Tim Tebow (2007-08). Spurrier (1966), Wuerffel (1996) and Tebow (2007) previously won the award and now have statues outside Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

“It is a true honor to be named a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. It just feels surreal to join the list of Gator Greats who have been named finalists for this trophy in the past,” Trask said. “I am so thankful to be in this position and without the help of my teammates, coaches and family, none of this would be possible.”

Having put together a tremendous 11-game resume, Trask leads the nation with 43 touchdown passes (10 more than any other player) and 46 total touchdowns. He has completed 69.7% of his passes this season for a nation-high 4,125 yards with only five interceptions. His average of 375 yards passing per game are also an FBS high this season.

Trask’s teammate, junior tight end Kyle Pitts, finished 10th in the Heisman voting. He is the first tight end to achieve that recognition since 1977. Pitts compiled 770 yards and 12 touchdowns on 43 receptions but only played eight games after missing three due to injury this season.

Trask and Pitts are the 10th and 11th Gators to ever be in the top 10 of Heisman ballot, also joining fullback Jimmy DuBose (1975), WR Wes Chandler (1977), running back Emmitt Smith (1987, 1989) and QB Shane Matthews (1991). This will be the 14th Heisman Trophy ceremony in which a Florida player was among a top 10 vote getter.

Join The

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux