Tebow, Meyer each named to award watch lists

By Adam Silverstein
October 27, 2009

On Monday, Florida Gators senior quarterback Tim Tebow was named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award honoring the nation’s best college quarterback. The oldest and most prestigious quarterback award, candidates are evaluated on quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, team spirit, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The O’Brien Award often goes along with the Heisman Trophy as it did the last two years with Tebow winning it on 2007 and Oklahoma Sooners QB Sam Bradford taking it home in 2008. Tebow is one of 15 semifinalists; finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 23.

Along with Tebow, University of Florida head coach Urban Meyer was honored Monday, being named to the watch list for the Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award. The only college coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played, finalists for it will be announced in late December before the awards dinner takes place in Houston, TX, on Jan. 14, 2010. Meyer has absurdly never won the award, having been beaten out by the Boise State BroncosChris Peterson in 2006 and the Utah UtesKyle Whittingham in 2008.

One Comment

  1. Mr2Bits says:

    I like the stance of the Bryant award as I think all awards should be awarded in mid/late January. It’s retarded to hand these out before the bowl games as clearly seen with the Heisman curse.

Join The

Your email address will not be published.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux