Florida AD Scott Stricklin named to College Football Playoff Selection Committee term

By Adam Silverstein
January 17, 2018
Florida AD Scott Stricklin named to College Football Playoff Selection Committee term

Image Credit: UAA / @GatorsFB

It was announced Wednesday that Florida Gators athletic director Scott Stricklin has been named to a three-year term on the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.

Stricklin, who took over as Florida’s AD in late 2016, joins Oklahoma AD Joe Castiglione, Georgia Tech AD Todd Stansbury, former head coach Ken Hatfield, journalist Paola Boivin and Super Bowl-winning defensive back Ronnie Lott as the newest members of the committee. Each will serve a three-year term.

“These are high integrity people who know and love college football,” CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a release. “Each one of them has built a distinguished career based on diligence and doing things the right way. We’re delighted that they will be joining the committee.”

Stricklin will serve as the SEC’s representative on the committee in place of former Arkansas AD Jeff Long.

“Jeff did a wonderful job serving as the SEC representative on the committee and I hope to continue that legacy,” Stricklin said in a school release. “The College Football Playoff has become a special part of our sport and the committee’s job is to pick the best teams and to represent the game with integrity.”

These six newbies join the seven other committee members, who will all rotate off soon. In his new role on the committee, Stricklin will be responsible for helping compile the CFP Rankings each week of the college football season beginning in late October or early November, assigning the College Football Playoff and selecting teams to the other New Year’s Six bowls.

Comments are closed.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux