Tebow named semifinalist for Academic Heisman

By Adam Silverstein
October 1, 2009

Florida Gators senior quarterback Tim Tebow has been named a semifinalist for the 2009 William V. Campbell Trophy, also known as the “Academic Heisman Trophy,” by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The trophy is awarded annually to a college graduate for their outstanding ability on the field, work in the classroom (minimum 3.2 GPA) and strong leadership.

One of only four schools to have multiple winners of the trophy, previous Gators recipients include defensive tackle Brad Culpepper (1991) and quarterback Danny Wuerffel (1996). Center Mike Degory (2005) and long snapper James Smith (2008) were semifinalists for the Campbell Trophy, while quarterback Chris Leak was a finalist in 2006.

In addition to his accomplishments on the football field, Tebow boasts a 3.66 GPA, over 700 hours of community service and was a first-team Academic All-American selection in 2007. He is also the 2008 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and 2008 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American of the Year.

The Campbell Trophy winner will be announced on December 8 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

Join The

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux