Streaks and records following Florida vs. Georgia

By Adam Silverstein
November 3, 2009

– The No. 1 Florida Gators extended their winning streak to 18 games, dating back to 2008. This is good for the longest in school history, the longest in the nation and most consecutive wins for an SEC team since the Auburn Tigers had 20 from 1993-94.

– The Gators are 8-0 for the first time since the 1996 team started 10-0 and finished 12-1 with UF’s first football National Championship.

– Senior quarterback Tim Tebow broke the SEC record for rushing touchdowns (49) previously held by former Georgia Bulldogs‘ RB Herschel Walker (1980-82) with his 23-yard run in the second quarter. Tebow followed it up with a five-yard run in the third quarter to end the game with 51 career rushing touchdowns.

– Also gaining 85 yards on the ground against Georgia, Tebow broke another SEC record – career rushing yards by a quarterback. Previously held by Arkansas Razorbacks QB Matt Jones (2001-04) at 2,535, the record has been surpassed by Tebow who now has 2,588 on his career and looks to improve the number over the course of the next few weeks.

– Since Urban Meyer became the head coach in 2005, the Gators are now 14-1 against tradition rivals (Florida State, Georgia, Miami and Tennessee), including a 4-1 record against the Bulldogs.

– Special teams continue to stop opponents from returning punts as Chas Henry and his unit did not allow any punt return yardage for the eighth straight game. The Gators have recorded zero punt-return yardage this season.

Comments are closed.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux