Meyer, Tebow, Spikes named award finalists

By Adam Silverstein
November 4, 2009

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced on Wednesday that Florida Gators head coach Urban Meyer, senior quarterback Tim Tebow and senior linebacker Brandon Spikes are all finalists, respectively, for the George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year, Maxwell Award for Collegiate Player of the Year and Chuck Bednarik Award for Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

Tebow is a two-time Maxwell Award winner (2007, 2008) who was the first sophomore ever selected to receive the honor. He is also only the second two-time winner in the award’s history along with Notre Dame Fighting Irish halfback John Lattner.


  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention ONLY GATORS Get Out Alive - Florida Gators college football, basketball, sports, recruiting, news, commentary, blog, message board, Tim Tebow, Urban Meyer --

  2. Gatorfan33 says:

    Look at the GUNS on Brandon. I sure hope my Dolphins can snag him in the draft as we desperately need help at ILB.

Join The

Your email address will not be published.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux