Eight Gators named to Preseason All-SEC Teams

By Adam Silverstein
July 12, 2012

Eight members of the Florida Gators football team were named to the 2012 Preseason All-SEC Teams on Thursday, as previously voted on by the conference’s coaches.

Florida, which had a league-high 10 players elected to the 2010 teams two years ago, only had six selected in 2011 including none on the first team. However, redshirt senior kicker Caleb Sturgis received that honor this year as the only Gators player named to the First Team.

Joining him with Preseason All-SEC nods are Second Team members senior linebacker Jon Bostic, redshirt junior returner Andre Debose, junior defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd and junior safety Matt Elam.

Senior offensive tackle Xavier Nixon, redshirt junior LB Jelani Jenkins and junior defensive lineman Dominique Easley were named to the All-SEC Third Team.

Florida tied for the fourth-most players selected overall with eight (as did Georgia and South Carolina). Alabama and LSU are each represented by 11 players, while Arkansas had 10 players selected. The Gators, however, are one of just four teams without a First Team representative on offense or defense.

This year’s All-SEC Teams were announced one week prior to the 2012 SEC Football Media Days, which take place beginning July 17 in Hoover, AL. The Gators will be represented by head coach Will Muschamp, Bostic, redshirt senior LB Lerentee McCray and senior running back Mike Gillislee.

Join The

Your email address will not be published.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux