SAAC holds first annual Florida Letterman Awards

By Adam Silverstein
April 13, 2010

The University of Florida’s Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) held the first annual Florida Letterman Awards on Monday at the Phillips Center in Gainesville, FL. Check out the winners of each award…after the break:

Mr. and Miss Orange and Blue
Tim Tebow (football) and Stacey Nelson (softball)

Team of the Year
2009 Softball (63-5, 26-1 SEC), SEC Champions, WCWS runner-up

Athlete of the Year
Shaune Fraser (men’s swimming & diving) and Mariam Kevkhishvili (women’s track & field)

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Eric Strestha (men’s swimming & diving) and Rebekah Zaiser (gymnastics)

Play of the Year
4×100 relay: Dennis Martin, Calvin Smith, Terrell Wilks, Jeremy Hall (men’s track & field) and Ali Gardener (softball)

Rookie of the Year
Christian Taylor (men’s track & field) and Jemma Lowe (women’s swimming & diving)

Comeback Athlete
Maranda Smith (gymnastics)

Character Award
Joey Sorrentino (football) and Ashley Kerr (gymnastics)

2009-10 James W. Kynes Scholarship
Brett Bentley (baseball), Savannah Evans (gymnastics), Kristina Hilberth (softball), Jacy Kruzel (women’s cross country), Eugene Martin (men’s track & field)

Goodwill Gator Community Service
John Fairbanks (football)

Join The

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux