XFL rosters: Eight Florida Gators open season on initial 2020 teams

By Adam Silverstein
February 8, 2020
XFL rosters: Eight Florida Gators open season on initial 2020 teams

The reincarnated XFL opened its inaugural season on Saturday with eight former Florida Gators spread across the league’s eight teams. To be more specific, Florida can be found on three of the league’s eight rosters with a majority of them on the Sunshine State team.

Running back Mack Brown, wide receiver Antonio Callaway, tight end DeAndre Goolsby, offensive lineman Martez Ivey and defensive end Cece Jefferson opened the season on the Tampa Bay Vipers. However, Callaway is already out for the season after being placed on injured reserve last week with a leg injury.

Running back Matt Jones and safety Will Hill made the final roster for the St. Louis BattleHawks, and safety Matt Elam will begin the season with the D.C. Defenders. Elam had one tackle in his first game, a 31-19 win by D.C. over the Seattle Dragons.

The Vipers and BattleHawks will kick off their seasons on Sunday.

Former Gators defensive coordinator Bob Stoops is head coach of the Dallas Renegades, and he has Steve Spurrier’s son Scott on his staff as a tight ends coach.

Join The

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux