Florida Gators start unranked in preseason Coaches Poll for second straight year

By Adam Silverstein
July 30, 2015

Coming off their first national tile in more than a decade, the Ohio State Buckeyes earned the No. 1 spot in the 2015 preseason USA Today Coaches’ Poll released Thursday, while the Florida Gators will enter the season unranked for the second straight season.

Florida opened the 2015 poll in the 48th spot with two total votes, one of 13 Southeastern Conference teams to receive votes (eight of which will start in the top 25).

It is the second time since USA Today took over the coaches poll in 1991 that the Gators have been unranked in its preseason edition, the first coming last year.

Ohio State received 62 of 64 possible first-place votes with TCU (1), Alabama (1), Baylor and Oregon rounding out the top five.

The eight Southeastern Conference teams ranked by the coaches this preseason – three in the top 10 – include: Alabama (3), Auburn (7), Georgia (9), LSU (13), Ole Miss (15), Arkansas (20), Missouri (23) and Tennessee (25). Overall, 10 SEC teams ranked among the top 27 vote-getters.

UF will face six teams ranked in the preseason top 25: FSU, UGA, LSU, Mizzou, UT.

Preseason 1-5: Ohio State (62), TCU (1), Alabama (1), Baylor, Oregon
6-10: Michigan State, Auburn, Florida State, Georgia, USC
11-15: Notre Dame, Clemson, LSU, UCLA, Ole Miss
16-20: Arizona State, Georgia Tech, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Arkansas
21-25: Stanford, Arizona, Missouri, Boise State, Tennessee

Others Receiving Votes
Mississippi State 164; Texas A&M 149; Oklahoma State 89; Virginia Tech 70; Utah 40; Kansas State 37; Louisville 27; Nebraska 27; Minnesota 25; Penn State 20; South Carolina 18; Miami (Fla.) 16; Texas 8; Illinois 7; Duke 6; Air Force 5; Louisiana Tech 5; Marshall 4; Utah State 4; West Virginia 3; North Carolina State 3; Brigham Young 3; Florida 2; Georgia Southern 2; North Carolina 2; Maryland 1; Michigan 1; Kentucky 1; Central Florida 1; Cincinnati 1; Washington 1

Seven SEC coaches will be voting in the poll this season: Gus Malzahn (Auburn), Les Miles (LSU), Gary Pinkel (Missouri), Mark Richt (Georgia), Nick Saban (Alabama), Steve Spurrier (South Carolina), Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M)

Miles, Richt, Saban and Spurrier all voted in 2013 and 2014 with Pinkel and Sumlin also voting in 2014.

Coaches from five of UF’s 12 opponents will be voting: Miles, Pinkel, Richt, Spurrier, Jimbo Fisher (Florida State)

Comments are closed.